NEW Delhi, India: Railway spurted to an early lead and stayed in front despite a stirring comeback by Indian Airlines to remain National Hockey Champions for one more year. Railways won Wednesday’s final at National Stadium here 42, after going 30 up in 16 minutes. However, it wasn’t till the 64th minute when Pargat got their fourth goal that they were sure that they would retain the Rangaswamy Cup In between. Airlines scored twice and threatened to score a third several times but only just failed.

The final was a clash between two teams known for their attacking skills. Both sides attacked well but what made the difference was Railway’s excellent finishing in the first 15 minutes and stubborn defense, after that, Goalkeeper Harjinder made some superb saves, especially in the second half.

Article extracted from this publication >> March 18, 1988