CHANDIGARH: Men hockey players have been completely ignored for the Maharaja Ranjit Singh Award this year,

The five member selection committee comprising Mr. G.S. Bains, Director (Sports) Punjab; Mr. Jilkha Singh, Additional Director (Sports), Punjab Education Department; Mr. Jarnail Singh, Additional Director (Sports) Punj T.C, Gupta, Secretary, Punjab Olympic Association, and Mr. M.P. Pandove, Secretary of the Punjab Cricket Association, has recommended 19 outstanding sports Persons of the State for the award to the Punjab Government.

The winners of the awards are: Athletics R.S, Bal, Pardeep Kumar, Gurmeet Kaur, Manjit Singh, Kamal Preet Singh, Balwinder Singh and Manjit Singh, Cycling Sandip Singh, Balkar Singh and Harvinder Singh. Football Charanjit Singh, Gymnastics Saranjit Singh, Volleyball Sukhpal Singh, Hockey Saroj Bala, Judo Sandeep Byalla, Cricket Rajdeep Kalsi, Wrestling Gurmukh Singh, Beant Singh and Jagdeep Singh

Article extracted from this publication >> September 9, 1988