Chandigarh: S. Gurcharan Singh Tohra was again elected President of Shiromani Gurdwara Parbhandak Committee for the 14th year in succession. He defeated his rival S. Bir Singh, United Akali Dal nominee, by a big margin securing 115 votes as against 9 polled by S. Bir Singh. Others elected for various offices are: S. Kabul Singh Hoshiapur, Senior Vice President, S. Piara Singh Adampur, Junior Vice President; S. Onkar Singh Nangal General Secretary. Eleven member executive includes S. Sher Singh Khushipur; S. Darshan Singh Issapur; S. Joginder Singh Bhutani; S. Kishan Singh Aarti; S. Suba Singh; S. Pal Singh Badlada; S. Swaran Singh; S. Kundan Singh Mangla; S. Shiv Singh Bela; S. Gurdial Singh Rodewali and S. Bir Singh of United Akali Dal.

  1. Surjit Singh Barnala had recommended these names and his recommendations was adopted by the House.

Through a resolution it was decided to demolish the government repaired Akal Takht and to build a new one in accordance with Sikh traditions. Elaborate security arrangements were made and stengun wielding policemen were freely moving all over the Temple complex. They were present at the Parkarma also. Temple authorities neither objected to the presence of the gun wielding officers nor lodged any protest. Even Gurcharan Singh Tohra came to the meeting escorted by a dozen stengun wielding policemen.

AISSF members were also present in large numbers and they raised slogans against the Akali leadership. But no untoward incident was reported.

Article extracted from this publication >>  December 6, 1985