NEW DELHI, India: The Election Commission on Tuesday announced its decision to hold by elections to seven Lok Sabha constituencies, including Allahabad, on May 28.

By elections to 10 Legislative Assembly seats in Gujarat, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal and one metropolitan council constituency in Delhi will also be held on that date.

Besides Allahabad, the other Lok Sahba constituencies are Godhra (Gujarat), Faridkot and Sirsa (SC) (Haryana), Udhampur (Jammu and Kashmir), Calicut (Kerala) and Pali (Rajasthan).

According to the programme announced by the Commission, the notification will be issued on April 27.

Article extracted from this publication >> April 29, 1988